Our Tritonman “Classic” will be pretty familiar to those of you who’ve attended our race in past years: we’ll have a good number of collegiate triathletes, and a smattering of age groupers too. Check out the course , with transition located in Tecolote Shores North Park. Also, please remember to bring a swim cap to the race, color does not matter.

Pre-race check in

Pre-race check in will be held on Friday, January 16th, 2018 from 11am-8pm at Moment Bicycles in Liberty Station. The address is 2816 Historic Decatur Rd Suite 135, San Diego, CA 92106. There will a small expo with booths from our sponsors. Please try to make it to this packet pick-up!

If you can’t make packet pick up earlier in the week, we’ll open up registration at 5:00 AM on race day. Please try to make it to the packet pick-up on Friday to save everyone time and unneeded stress!

You must have your USAT Cards and a photo ID to pick up your packet. If you are picking up a packet for someone else please have a copy of their USAT Cards and their photo ID. 

To non-USAT members: don’t forget, in order to race, you must purchase a one-day membership for $15. We’ll accept credit cards and checks only. No cash will be accepted.

Non-Collegiate Club Challenge

This year, we have brought a new challenge to the Tritonman scene. The non-collegiate club challenge where local non-collegiate triathlon clubs will compete for a trophy to be presented by 1982 Ironman World Champion Kathleen McCartney and Triathlon Radio personality Bob Babbitt! The top 2 men and the 2 women will score for each club and the club with the fastest combined times wins. The top three clubs will receive prizes. The winning team will also win free race entries for Tritonman 2019. If you are interested in competing for your team please let your team leadership know, and they will contact the Race Director with who will be competing for your team.

Schedule of events

5:00 AM Registration and transition open
6:00 AM E. Mission Bay Dr. closes in preparation for race
6:15 AM Registration closes
6:45 AM Transition closes, water closed to warm-up swimmers
6:45 AM First Paratriathlete wave start (wave zero)
7:00 AM Second wave (collegiate men’s A wave) start
7:05 AM Third wave (collegiate men’s B wave) start
7:10 AM Fourth wave (collegiate women’s A wave) start
7:15 AM Fifth wave (collegiate women’s B wave) start
7:20 AM Sixth wave (Open men men’s wave) start
7:25 AM Seventh wave (Open women wave) start
7:30 AM Eighth wave (TriJuniors/HS wave/Relay) start
9:30 AM Awards